How I Work

I like this idea – and it has much in common with 23 Librarians. See also Career Spotlight: What I do as a Librarian on Lifehacker.

Troublesome Mind

I saw this posted by Mike Perry on LibraryProject.Info, and then by Nicholas Schiller on his blog Information Games, and I liked the concept. It’s based on a Lifehacker series.

Current gig:
Head, Metadata Services Unit. I have eight direct reports.

Current mobile device:
Motorola Droid Razr Maxx HD

Current computer:
office: Dell Optiplex 990 w/Windows 7 Enterprise
office 2: Samsung Chromebook (for meetings, etc.)
home: Lenovo Edge 15 w/Windows 8.1 (shiny! new!)

One word that best describes how you work:
ummm…ADD/ADHD? I’m a multitasker by nature. I frequently shift gears and/or have multiple things going at once. I start running a report, while it runs I start processing a file of records, and while waiting on both, I review a few authority records. I’m also frequently interrupted with questions from my staff or other colleagues. And I am a slave to email.

What apps/software/tools can’t…

View original post 689 more words

Like to reply? Please comment!

